Thursday 15 Thu al-Qa‘dah 1445 - 23 May 2024

Ruling on eating imported sweets and candies


Publication : 14-04-2008

Views : 22552


The chocolates came from England and Canada they were sent by our relatives as a gift now i would like to know how can we identify if it is haram or halal?. the ingredients didn't mention anything about it.the chocolates were twix,kit kat etc.I will be waiting for your reply 


Praise be to Allah.

Shaykh Muhammad al-‘Uthaymeen said: the basic principle concerning all foods and drinks is that they are permissible unless there is evidence to show that they are forbidden, because Allaah says (interpretation of the meaning): 

“He it is Who created for you all that is on earth. Then He rose over (Istawa) towards the heaven and made them seven heavens and He is the All-Knower of everything” [al-Baqarah 2:29]

And because the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “What I keep quiet about is permissible,” then he recited:

“Say (O Muhammad): I find not in that which has been revealed to me anything forbidden to be eaten by one who wishes to eat it, unless it be Maytah (a dead animal) or blood poured forth (by slaughtering or the like), or the flesh of swine (pork); for that surely, is impure or impious (unlawful) meat (of an animal) which is slaughtered as a sacrifice for others than Allaah (or has been slaughtered for idols, or on which Allaah’s Name has not been mentioned while slaughtering)”

[al-An’aam 6:145 – interpretation of the meaning].

(Narrated by Abu Dawod, al-At’imah, 3306). Al-Albaani said in Saheeh Sunan Abi Dawood, its isnaad is saheeh. No. 3225.  

If we do not know that this thing is haraam, either from a clear statement [in the Qur’aan or Sunnah] to that effect or because it comes under a general shar’i prohibition, or by proper analogy that dictates that it is haraam, then it is halaal. This is the basic principle concerning food, drink, clothing and customs.  

(Fataawa Manaar al-Islam, 3/647). 

On this basis it is permissible to eat them so long as it is not proven that their ingredients include anything that that is known in sharee’ah to be haraam. And Allaah knows best.

Was this answer helpful?

Source: Sheikh Muhammed Salih Al-Munajjid